ICC World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma breaks two records during IND vs NED – International


Rohit Sharma plays a shot towards cover. — BCCI

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma continued his impeccable form and broke two world records during the 45th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 against the Netherlands at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, on Sunday.

Sharma added another milestone in his remarkable career as the Indian skipper scored 61 off 54 deliveries and provided his side a bright start once again.

Sharma’s 61 came with the help of 10 boundaries, eight fours and two sixes. And with those two sixes, the 36-year-old broke two world records and etched his name in the history books of the game.

The Hitman, with his second six against the Dutch, has now scored the most ODI sixes in a calendar year, overtaking South Africa’s legend and one of the most complete batters of all time, AB de Villiers, who scored 58 in 2015. The next on this list is the former West Indies opener Chris Gayle with 56 in 2019, he is followed by Pakistan’s great Shahid Afridi who hit 48 maximums in 2002.

Not just that, Sharma also broke England’s World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan’s record of hitting the most sixes in a single WC campaign by a captain.

Sharma took his six tally to 24 after his two maximums against Scott Edwards’ men on Sunday, overtaking Morgan who hit 22 in 2019.

It must be noted that the 36-year-old has now amassed 503 runs in the World Cup with an average of 55.88 and a blistering 121.49 strike rate. He has scored 58 fours and 24 sixes in the process.

India is playing the Netherlands in the last group stage of this mega event and by the time this story was filed, the first innings were concluded with the Blues scoring 410 runs in the allocated overs.

Playing XI:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Netherlands: Wesley Barresi, Max ODowd, Colin Ackermann, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Scott Edwards (w/c), Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekere.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *